Warning: Declaration of Suffusion_MM_Walker::start_el(&$output, $item, $depth, $args) should be compatible with Walker_Nav_Menu::start_el(&$output, $data_object, $depth = 0, $args = NULL, $current_object_id = 0) in /home/thetrew3/public_html/paulw/wp-content/themes/suffusion/library/suffusion-walkers.php on line 17

GCC honors its alumni, past and future


Greenfield Recorder 05/07/2013, Page C02

GREENFIELD — Greenfield Community College celebrated students past and present this past weekend with the GCC Foundation awards ceremony, presenting dozens of scholarships and awards.

Among those representing students past on Sunday was one-time Deerfield police officer Christopher Bilodeau, 39, selected this year by the GCC Distinguished Alumni Committee for the 2013 award. Professor Buz Eisenberg and Distinguished Alumni Committee member Bill Fitzpatrick presented the award. Bilodeau also received a citation from the state Legislature presented by Sen. Stan Rosenberg and Rep. Paul Mark.

A special agent with the U.S. Department of State Diplomatic Security Service, Bilodeau is no stranger to commendation, having this year received the Award for Heroism from Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton for his courageous actions during a terrorist attack on a motorcade traveling through Pakistan in 2011.

The Frontier Regional School alumnus studied criminal justice at GCC and travelled from Washington, D.C., for the ceremony.

Closer to home, 74 awards and scholarships went to students from Massachusetts and neighboring states.

Awards were as follows:

25th Anniversary Scholarship: Saphrona Denney, Brattleboro.

General “Hap” Adams Memorial Award: Kelsey Wicks, Florence.

Alumni Scholarship: Patricia Dunn, Montague; Garrett Loomis, Amherst.

Joanne M. Ball Scholarship: Kelly Savitri, Greenfield; Andrea Gray, South Deerfield.

Baystate Franklin Auxiliary Nursing Scholarship: Beverly Guilbault, Greenfield.

Channing Bete Company Scholarship: Fabio Dallorto, Conway; Anthony Leonard, West Wardsboro, Vt.; Michael Roberts, Easthampton.

Alice D. Bitzer Nursing Scholarship: Mishaela Brennan, Conway; Natalya Radionova, West Springfield.

Bohne Scholarship for Women in Transition: Cynthia Curtis, Greenfield. Barbara Hannon Bourne Award: Natalia Masaitis, Greenfield; Jessica Williams Flowers, Belchertown.

Florence Rawson Bramley Scholarship: Michelle Glabach, Greenfield.

Brattleboro Nursing Scholarship: Viktoriya Khasanova, Turners Falls.

Charles E. Carter Scholarship: Joshua Freund, Leverett.

Ethel “Risky” Case Alumni Scholarship: Andrew Mathey, Colrain. Stan and Jean Cummings Environmental Studies Scholarship: Michael Roberts, Easthampton.

Carolyn Nims McLellan Dance Scholarship: Nicole Burelle, Easthampton.

Saul Ellenbogen Scholarship: Ashley Sears, Greenfield; Joshua Therien, Greenfield.

Drs. Helen E. and Frederick E. Ellis Scholarship: Ruth Allard, Guilford, Vt.:, Abbigail Cushing, Greenfield; Fabio Dallorto, Conway.

Eleanor N. Farber Scholarship: Ernest Baird, Northampton; Kristie Timberlake, Turners Falls.

Farren Memorial Hospital Guild Nursing Scholarship: Dmitri Doncev, Greenfield.

The Domenic J. Ferrante Engineering Scholarship: Jeremy Vandal, Wilmington, Vt.

Evalyn N. Fitzroy Scholarship: Oliver Uhlig, Sunderland.

William K. Hefner Memorial Scholarship: Eric Blevin, Shelburne Falls.

Betty Higson Memorial Scholarship: Kelsey Rode, Colrain.

Richard L. Holbrook, Jr. Scholarship: Oleg Barun, Montague.

Jonathan J. Hubbard Memorial Scholarship: Earl Cruz, Greenfield; Kelandra Hurd, Amherst.

Blanche and John Hukowicz Scholarship: Zlata Lipskaya, Westfield.

William C. and Patricia A. Jolicoeur Scholarship: Abbigail Cushing, Greenfield; Kevin Gates, Sunderland.

Brud and Irmarie Jones Scholarship for International Students: Venus Krasaekup, Winchester, N.H.

Kennametal-Greenfield Dino Emanuelli Engineering Scholarship: Garrett Loomis, Amherst; Ernest Baird, Northampton.

Kennametal-Greenfield Dennis Greene Business/Marketing Scholarship: Noreen Woodruff, Guilford, Vt.

Valorie A. (Grant) Knowlton Law Enforcement Scholarship: Victoria Damato, Athol.

Kravetz Meyers Health Occupations Scholarship: Tara Johnson, Greenfield. Jane Lerner and Michael Bardsley Educational Transitions Program Scholarship: Jaqueline Rodriguez, Greenfield; Genevieve Wentzel-Smith, Greenfield.

Virginia Low Women’s Studies Award: Kelandra Hurd, Amherst.

Adam Markowski Scholarship: Earl Cruz, Greenfield.

Allan “Bucky” McGuane Scholarship: Olga Alforova, Westfield.

Phyllis Meyer Scholarship: Kristie Timberlake, Turners Falls.

Andrew Music Award: Will Byler, Harvard.

Phyllis Rubin Nahman Scholarship: Sara Kochanski, Westfield.

Wally and Juanita Nelson Scholarship: Barbara Broussard, Shelburne Falls.

Harrison Parker Scholarship: Melissa Carson, Shelburne; Nadia Hamdan, Charlemont.

Edwin C. Peck Mathematics Award: Tasaday Green, Guilford, Vt.

Hartley Pfeil Memorial Scholarship: Barbara Adams, Athol.

Deborah Rubenzahl Scholarship: Barbara Broussard, Shelburne Falls.

Art and Marjorie Ruggles Scholarship: Nicole Fuller, Montague.

Arthur W. Shaw Scholarship: Isolina Leiva Bowes, Greenfield.

The Sinauer Associates Scholarship in Biology: Danielle Hawley, Hadley; Gary Kennedy, South Deerfield; Christopher R. McMahon, Millers Falls; Adria Paulson, Northfield; Christopher Roy, Montague.

Carleton P. Stinchfield Memorial Scholarship: Susanna Khasanova, Turners Falls.

Teddy Bear Pools, Inc.: Nikki Floyd, Greenfield.

Dr. Lewis O. Turner Academic Award: Michael Churchill, Hawley.

Gretchen S. Watson Scholarship: Megan Healey, Amherst.

Russel B. Wilkes Memorial Scholarship: Narjes Hamdan, Chicopee.

Western Massachusetts Electric Company Scholarship: Tiffany Kozash, Hatfield.

Women Investing in Women Scholarship: Noreen Woodruff, Guilford, Vt.

Robert Mugar Yacubian Transfer Scholarship: Garrett Loomis, Amherst. T. Budge and Jeannene Hyde Scholarship: Alexandra Sherman, Turners Falls.

Franklin County Smith Club Book Award: Abigail Cushing, Greenfield.